top of page

Home

BLOG

Featured Posts
Recent Posts

Visitors

A friend shared their frustration over her child’s messy bedroom on Facebook and even showed her friends a photo. They got lots of support and advice from their Facebook friends. Reading through the comments it made me realise that Facebook is the Twenty First’s Century visiting routine. In times past, people would actually knock on your door and you could invite them in. These days by posting your status and photos, you invite people into your life. It’s a lot more controlled, in that they only get to see what you want them to see. The variety of people who get invited is greater but that also means that there is a greater diversity of advice, good or bad.

As I thought about this later, I was reminded about the visitors that would actually come to my home as a newlywed housewife. It seemed to me that it would be the one day that I had decided not to make the bed or do the washing up, that there would be a knock on the door. One particular young visitor would delight in checking out the house and reporting to the adults exactly what hadn’t been done that day. It always felt a bit like judgement day.

If I had been wiser or more spiritually mature I’m sure that I would have taken Proverbs 27:1 to heart. “Boast not thyself of tomorrow for thou knowest not what a day may bring forth.” If I had I would have made sure that I did those jobs every day.

In the same way as I didn’t know when this visitor would call, I don’t know when Jesus is going to knock on my life’s door. He will be calling me to check out my life’s work not my housework. Are you ready to have your life’s work checked?

Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page