top of page

Home

BLOG

Featured Posts
Recent Posts

Me

Today is my birthday and if I was going to be really selfish I would want this day to be all about me. I must not be selfish though. Why? The world does not revolve around me. Yes, I am special, God made me and that makes it a true statement but He also made everyone else that has ever lived and who is to live and that makes them just as special.

I think birthdays are our own personal Thanksgiving Day, a day when we look back over the past year and forward at the next. As I wrote my Christmas Letter last night I was able to share just how much I have to be thankful for. Looking back over this last year I can see that the hand of God moved me to do exactly what needed to happen because God knew what was going to happen. I can now see that even in the mist of the down times and I don’t just mean the passing of my mother (there was a lot time in the middle of the year where I really questioned what God’s plan was for the year and even the rest of my life He hand was working.

As I spoke to my dad this morning I commented that modern media is a two edged sword. It raises the expectations of people too high and this will impact on their optimism. For the first time I have some idea of what the next year holds, so many first without my mother but at the same time: Jeremiah 29:11 says “For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you an expected end” The year ahead is under God’s control.

Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page