top of page

Home

BLOG

Featured Posts
Recent Posts

Which Race are you in?

Have you ever watched greyhounds racing? We have had many pictures on our televisions sets lately as our state government sets about banning this industry. They race at full speed, focused on that prize in front of them. It’s a false prize, it’s a ball full of fluffy stuff that if would not taste great anyway. They are so focused that they seem to forget about the other reward that awaits them, that of a loving owner, who will feed them real dog food, give them a wash and a comfortable bed to sleep on.

As I watched the pictures I realised that on many occasions when God is asking me to do something I don’t particularly like, I am a bit of a greyhound. I want that short term, empty prize. Sometimes, I find myself so focused on the prizes in front of me, a nice home, good food, money and comfort that I lose sight of the real reward, that of eternal life with my loving father.

If my focus stays on the right things He will give me something far better than what is right in front of me, the empty prizes that this world offers. Those prizes are as empty as the stuffed toy that is attached to the racing rail. I have to wonder if the dogs were able to think about the end prize they might break ranks and head for the kennel.

Isn’t that what God wants of me? He wants me to break rank and stay focused on what is really important. Winning souls for Him is what He wants me to do, not building mansions or living stress free.

I’m pretty sure Paul understood the problem we have when he wrote to the Corinthians and said: “And this I do for the gospel's sake, that I might be partaker thereof with you. Know ye not that they which run in a race run all, but one receiveth the prize? So run, that ye may obtain. And every man that striveth for the mastery is temperate in all things. Now they do it to obtain a corruptible crown; but we an incorruptible.” (1 Corinthians 9:25).

Are you ever a greyhound?

Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page