top of page

Home

BLOG

Featured Posts
Recent Posts

Love is Not Always Comfortable

I am not an animal person! I just do not feel comfortable around them. Dogs seem too energetic, cattle are just too big, sheep too senseless, horses just create panic attacks, chooks dig holes and make a lot of mess and cats, well they are just too clingy. They probably annoy me the most. They are demanding, hanging around your feet, seemingly to deliberately trip you up. Please let me assure you that if you mistreat any of these animals, I am not happy either. I don’t have to like these animals to expect that love should be shown to them by those who own them.

I was thinking about this lack of affinity with animals one night when I realised that there are many people in our lives that we struggle to like and get along with. Yet we are required by God to love these people and witness to them. These are the people that God brings across our paths for the express purpose of letting them see just how much He loves them. It is a privilege that He has given to you.

“But I say unto you which hear, Love your enemies, do good to them which hate you, Bless them that curse you, and pray for them which despitefully use you.” Luke 6:27-28.

Every day, we share in the loving gifts that God sends us. He wants us to pass them on to those around us. He doesn’t expect us to like everyone! He does expect us to love them through our actions, in the same way that He loves us through the actions of His son, Jesus Christ.

While I am sure that I will never feel comfortable around the animals in my life, and there are many, I look to Jesus to help me to show them the love that He has given to me, so that they will understand just how much He loves them and wants to have a personal relationship with them.

I know that this challenge is not always easy, but the Holy Spirit is also very willing to help us to meet it. Let’s love the way Jesus loves.

Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page