top of page

Home

BLOG

Featured Posts
Recent Posts

Covered by the Word

There was a particular type of weed in my rose garden that has runners that strike out along the ground. They even grow under coverings until it finds a chink of light and then shoots its head skywards and takes off.

These weeds have always been around in this part of the garden. I have found the easiest way to deal with them is to cover them with newspaper weighed down with rocks. This suppresses them enough to make them easier to pull out when they do get out of control.

As I pulled the runners out of the ground I thought about my own life and how there will always be weeds in my life. Things that are not very pleasant but have always been there. They might be things like a personality trait that sends the wrong message to those around me. Like the weeds in my garden are suppressed by newspaper, those things in my life can be suppressed when they are covered by the word of God.

“All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness: That the man of God may be perfect, thoroughly furnished unto all good works.” 2 Timothy 3:16-17.

There are things that will from time to time rare their ugly heads and cause concern. Yes, they will always be part of my life but the more I read God’s word and stay close I to Him the better they will be suppressed.

Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page