top of page

Home

BLOG

Featured Posts
Recent Posts

Contentment

I was thinking about Paul and how unlike me, Paul says in Philippians 4:11 “Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content.” It is one thing to know that you are where God wants you to be and yet it's another thing to be content in that situation.

As I talked to God about this He turned my thoughts to another passage. In Philippians 1:21-22 Paul says: “For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain. But if I live in the flesh, this is the fruit of my labour: yet what I shall choose I wot not.” I had to wonder if Paul wasn’t content in another area of his life, the area of unfinished business.

It was then that I realised that is what I was struggling with, that we were in danger of being content with the unfinished things in our life. I don’t think that we are meant to be content with unfinished jobs. I know that no matter when we are called home there will still be work that needs to be done and it will be the responsibility of someone else to make sure that it is carried out. However, until then we are not to be content. We must always keep moving to make sure that at least one more person is introduced to Christ, one little child is told that God loves them, one more blind person gets to see or another hungry person gets a good meal.

As we move forward, I pray that the whole world will not be content, that we will stay the race and keep pushing forward, carrying out the work that God has set before us.

Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page