top of page

Home

BLOG

Featured Posts
Recent Posts

Soak or Scrub

There is only one type of dishwasher in our house. Yes, is a very hands-on one! To get our dishes clean either myself or my husband have to fill the sink with water and start scrubbing.

Someone, recently tried to tell me how to do this job. They insisted that I didn’t soak my dishes long enough before I started to clean up. Now, I don’t mind soaking my dishes sometimes. You need to be careful not to soak them too long, otherwise you have to empty the sink and replace the water because it has gone cold. I listened to the advice but thought that sometimes soaking can just be an excuse to put off getting our hands into the sink and start working.

As I reflected on this, I wondered if this isn’t a problem for us as Christians sometimes. Isn’t it easier to let things soak for a while. We might defend our lack of action by saying that we need to pray about an issue for longer. Yet, sometimes, like soaking the dishes, it would be of a greater profit for us to get in and do some hard scrubbing.

Psalm 14:23 says “In all labour there is profit: but the talk of the lips tendeth only to penury.” This not only relates to our earthly work. Poverty is the result of not getting in and doing the things that need to be done.

I believe that spiritual poverty is also a result of waiting too long to get our hands dirty working for the Lord.

“And whatsoever ye do, do it heartily, as to the Lord, and not unto men;” Colossians 3:23.

So, please when it comes to working for the Lord, let’s all put on our gloves, put our hands in the sink and start scrubbing.

Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page