top of page

Home

BLOG

Featured Posts
Recent Posts

How was your Day


The morning had gone reasonably well. I was ready on time for a change. I was just about to walk out the door when I received a message to tell me that the meeting I was about to attend had been cancelled. The reason given didn’t even seem to be very valid to me. This meant that I now had several hours on my hands. I was so dressed up and found myself looking around to find something to do without changing my outfit. I was resisting the need to change out of this good outfit.

As I looked around and prayed it seemed that there was only one thing to do, get changed and get stuck into some gardening. I had briefly looked at the garden that morning while saying goodbye to my husband and knew that it wouldn’t be long before I needed to get out there and do some serious work.

I changed, starting working, feeling very disappointed that my day had not gone the way I expected. Thinking about what I would answer my husband when he asked me how my day went, I wonder if I would moan about it not going the way I expected. Would I just say that it was different to what I expected? I remembered a story I had read not long before. It was about a little girl who, when asked about her day, had seen as magical what her mother had seen as messed up and frustrating.

This got me thinking about how God might view my day. Would God view it as disappointing after all members of his family were not meeting together to share His word.? Maybe He would just view it as something different, a time that we could spend together, one on one in fellowship with each other quietly in the garden. I became convinced that He would also consider it a good day.

Yes, our lives get tangled up from time to time and they get messy and even disappointing. In Psalm 118:24 David says: “This is the day which the LORD hath made; we will rejoice and be glad in it.” I discovered that morning that this is much easier when we try to look at how God might see our day.

When life gives you something different than what you expect try looking at it from God’s point of view and see if it looks better.

How was your day?

Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page