top of page

Home

BLOG

Featured Posts
Recent Posts

Washed

My husband wanted his vehicle washed before leaving on trip. He was running out of time so I decided that I would do it for him. It had been sitting in the shed for some time and was covered in dirt and dust.

I started out by hosing it down, and then a rag and soap was required to remove what hadn’t come off with the with the first rinse. Now, dirt representing sin is a common theme for me.

I started scrubbing the dirt off and thought about it really could be considered a waste of time. After all, as soon as my husband drove the vehicle up our muddy driveway (we had two inches of rain during the previous couple of days) it was going to get covered in mud again. I even wondered if Jesus got sick of washing our sins away but then I remembered that Jesus washed our sins away in one act of love on the cross. We no longer have to have our sins cleaned constantly.

Confessing our sins, did however, seem to relate to washing that car. You see, no matter how many times I scrubbed the dirt, I still found some that I had missed which required me to go back and have another go. As I returned for about the third time, I realised that no matter how many times we confessed our sins to God we would most likely leave something out and would have to go back again and again. Under the law, we would have to remember every sin that we had committed and confessed it to God each time. There is no way we would be able to recall all that we have done. I was able to thank God for knowing everything about me including all the sins that I have committed and He covered them all, regardless of whether I remember them or not with that one act of love on the cross 2000 years ago.

“For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God:” Ephesians 2:8.

Are you thanking God for His gift of love by accepting His salvation?

Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page