top of page

Home

BLOG

Featured Posts
Recent Posts

The Blame Game

This blog was first published on https://blog.canberradeclaration.org.au/ on 23rd July, 2019.

After another discussion about the pro and cons of replacing or repairing another old farm building that had been partly demolished by previous owners, I started to think about how many times we must clean up other’s mistakes and we often blame them for making our lives more difficult.

It’s frustrating but it’s been happening since the ‘fall’. For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God (Romans 3:23).

The ultimate act of fixing others’ mistakes, all our mistakes, was shown by Jesus Himself. He died on the cross to give us salvation from our sins.

It doesn’t matter how careful we are about the way we live; the next generation will also be making up for the things that we did that cause issues in their world, just as we are doing the same now. I am so often reminded that I didn’t live in those particular times in history, and if I’m honest I have to admit that I would most likely would have behaved in the same manner.

So many times, I have wanted to turn back the clock and do things differently, or even wished that others had done things differently. Yet, time, like the rain, is controlled by God.

The reality is, that no matter what we do, it is going to cause issues for future generations. That is just the truth of being a human being. There’s not a thing we can do about it.

I find it so easy to moan about these things or even worse, stand in judgement. I’m reminded that Jesus doesn’t moan about the effort it took to fix up the mess we make of our lives. He didn’t judge the woman caught in adultery, John 8:1-11.

If, I’m to be a true disciple of Jesus, then I should ask for the grace that He extended to me, and not moan or judge and offer it to those in my present and my past.

Only when I let go of them, can I focus clearly on the work in front of me. To walk my walk with love and a caring spirit and use what gifts He has endowed me with to solve the problems that are currently mounting around me and leave the future and the past, where it really belongs, in God’s Hands.

Prayer:

Father, we have many challenges facing us today. Forgive us for playing the blame game and give us the grace to let go of all the times when we think we or others have been wronged, and focus on the job at hand with the same grace that You extended to the whole human race by dying on the cross. Help us to not only use the good brains we gave us, but also Your inspiration to find solutions to the problems we are faced with, and then use Your strength to get the job

Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page